July Duodecathon Wrap-Up #Duodecathon

As you know, this past week I’ve been participating in Duodecathon. I recently joined the Duodecathon Reading Group on Goodreads.  This is such a fun group that really motivates you to read.  They have twelve challenges, one for each month.  All their info is on their page.

I was aiming for the challenge Read 1,200 pages, Read a graphic novel, and Start OR finish a series. I Ended up completing Read 1,200 Pages, First book on shelf you haven’t read, A book that has been on your TBR FOR 2+ years, Short Story, Graphic Novel and A book you picked because of the cover.


First book on your shelf you haven’t read – Beauty and the Beast Novelisation by Elizabeth Rudnick

301456793

This is actually a really cute companion to the film, and most of the dialogue is copied word for word from the new adaptation. But it made me realise just how important the songs are in this story for general plot advancement and interest.

 

 


A book that has been on your TBR FOR 2+ years – Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

23305614

3

Having experienced mental illness, I adore books that explore it in a relatable and meaningful way. It’s the story of a teen, Audrey, with social anxiety. Audrey is a 14 year old girl who suffers from Social Anxiety Disorder, General Anxiety Disorder and Depressive Episodes.

Although, I really didn’t like the way some of the issues were handled. The family dynamic was a bit contrived, the mother was portrayed doing some crazy things, and Audrey’s relationship with Linus was difficult to believe.


Short Story – To be Read at Dawn

329410461

As many other readers have already pointed out, these stories are not very scary by today’s standards.  This book consists of three short stories and each of them has something to do with horror. I quite enjoyed it but it was nothing special

 

 


 

Graphic Novel:

Tales of Zestiria Volume 1 by Shiramine

4Tales-of-Zestiria-manga-JP

I’ve played the game this series is based off, and the first volume is a pretty solid adaptation of early game play. The artwork is good, I like it.

 

 

 

 


One Piece by Eiichiro Oda

5


A book you picked because of the cover – You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan

27158835

4

I enjoyed this book! Mark and Katie had a beautiful friendship in just a matter of days. They found each other just when they needed one another. This book only covers a matter of days, but believe it or not there is character growth. The only problem I had with this book is the Believability.

 

 


Total Pages:

3,312

# of Books:

9

I really recommend checking out the reading group Duodecathon, as I’m sure that it would make reading fun and something to look forward to each month. Did you participate in Duodecathon? If so, I hope you all had a successful read-a-thon. Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below. Also, will you be participating next month?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.